Warriors push towards the Major League playoffs with two home games left


(Image: Aaron Cornia)

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH - The Utah Warriors take on New Orleans Gold Saturday, June 16th at 2pm in the CBS Game of the week presented by Intermountain Sports Medicine and TOSH - the Orthopedic Speciality Hospital. Tickets can be purchased at www.warriorsrugby.com or at the Zions Bank Stadium box-office.

In what could prove to be the most important match of the season for the Warriors, Utah takes on the NOLA Gold. The Warriors need to win at least one of their final two games in order to keep their playoff hopes alive. Coming off of a bye week, Utah has had an extra week to prepare for this week’s match. The week off was much needed for the Warriors as they must adapt to playing without their leading scorer in Kurt Morath and team captain Paul Lasike. Stepping up in their absence are locals AJ Tuineau and Former BYU punter Jonny Linehan.

Head Coach Alf Daniels said “After three long weeks on the road, we’re looking forward to coming home to our fans and having the crowd behind us. We’ve missed our community and really want our people to bring the noise”. "Our focus this week has been making sure everyone understands their individual roles and getting the little details right. Practice this week has been very positive; the focus and energy has been great and it’s instilled a lot of confidence in the team heading into this weekends match".

NOLA is coming off of 39-22 loss to the San Diego Legion. The Gold are led by fly-half Taylor Howden and Head Coach Nathan Osborne. The Warriors sit one spot ahead of NOLA in the Major League Standings and are separated by three points with the Gold needing a win to avoid being eliminated from playoff contention. 


CBS Sports Nationally (Direct-TV 221, Comcast/Xfinity - 269/753, DISH - 158)

MLR Facebook Broadcast Internationally

GAMEDAY 23 Man roster

  1. Alex Tucci
  2. Lote Tuipulotu
  3. Angus MacLellan
  4. Matt Jensen
  5. Saia Uhila
  6. John Cullen
  7. Ara Elkington
  8. Tevita Tameilau
  9. Joseph Nicholls
  10. Jonny Linehan
  11. Fetu Vainikolo
  12. AJ Tu’ineau
  13. Iniki Fa’amausili
  14. Tonata Lauti
  15. Don Pati

16. Ray Forrester

17. Maka Tameilau

18. Les Soloai

19. Lance Williams

20. Win Elkington

21. Josh Anderson

22. Vern Ale

23. Ben Nicholls